Irish and EU Logos

Regional Flood Risk Appraisal for the West Region

Comment are off

west-floodThe West Region incorporates four local authority areas – Galway City, Galway County, Mayo County and Roscommon County. This area comprises of 13,801 square kilometres which includes varying topographies, soil and rock types and water bodies, and is bound to the west by the Atlantic Ocean. The West Region lies within the Shannon International River Basin District and the Western River Basin District. The River Shannon, River Corrib, Lough Mask and Lough Corrib represent the largest rivers and lakes of the Region. The mapping of historical flood events in the West Region (sourced from OPW Flood Hazard Mapping as shown in Figure 2 below gives a general indication, based on reported past floods, of where flood vulnerable locations are within the West Region.

Download in PDF Format (Size 1mb)

About the Author