Irish and EU Logos


The Atlantic Area Programme provides assistance to transnational co-operation projects in Ireland, Western UK, Portugal and designated coastal regions of Spain and France. For the 2014-2020 period the programme area also includes the Azores, Canary islands and Madeira.

atlantic map

                             Eligible Area: Atlantic Area Programme 2014-2020


The Programme area is rich in maritime heritage and marine resources and boasts a strong Atlantic cultural identity. The area is also challenged by ongoing deficits in Innovation and SME competitiveness capacity as well as environmental threats including climate change and threats to the biodiversity of the Atlantic area. The agreed Programme Priorities respond to these challenges and will furthermore exploit opportunities in niche areas such as Green growth, Renewable Energies and Eco-Innovation.

The eligible priorities for the 2014-2020 Programme period are: –


Priority Axis 1:          Stimulating Innovation and Competitiveness

Priority Axis 2:          Fostering Resource Efficiency

Priority Axis 3:          Strengthening The Territory’s resilience to risks of natural, climate and human origin.

Priority Axis 4:          Enhancing biodiversity and the natural and cultural assets.


For further information see the programme website:

The Atlantic Area Co-Operation programme document can be accessed using this Link